Skip to content

Landmark & Heritage Meeting Minutes

October 19, 2015

A meeting of the Brusly Landmark and Heritage Commission was held on October 19, 2015, Brusly Town Hall, Brusly, Louisiana.

Chairman Rills called the meeting to order at 6:30 P.M. Commissioner Bourgeois led the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call determined the following officials present:

Commission Chairman:                      Jim Rills
Commission Members Present:        Billy Bourgeois, Margaret Canella, Sara Grady, Henry Soniat
Commission Members Absent:         Rose Jackson, Shirley Jordan
Advisory Members Present:              Brian Falcon, Kevin Durbin, Billy Hebert
Advisory Members Absent:               None

Others present: Joanne Bourgeois

Upon motion of Commissioner Canella; seconded by Commissioner Bourgeois, the minutes of the July 20, 2015 meeting were approved as written.

Landmark Plaque Applications: None

Former Landmark Site Applications: None

Other Business: None

Public Comment:
Council Member Joanne Bourgeois thanked Debbie Berthelot and Jamie Loupe for helping with the Landmark Plaque Ceremony which was held on September 20, 2015. Ms. Bourgeois also thanked Margaret Canella, Jim Rills and Sara Grady for their support at the Ceremony, along with Brian Falcon for helping with the presentation. Ms. Bourgeois reported that the Ceremony was a success and well attended.

Kevin Durbin spoke about a GIS mapping project that he was creating for WBR Parish; he offered to include a story map of historical structures in Brusly.

A motion was made by Commissioner Grady to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Canella. The motion passed with a unanimous vote. Commission Chairman Rills adjourned the meeting at 6:50 P.M.
 /s/Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux, Secretary

Back To Top