Skip to content

Landmark & Heritage Meeting Minutes – October 2023

October 16, 2023

A meeting of the Brusly Landmark and Heritage Commission was held on Monday October 16, 2023, at Brusly Town Hall, Brusly, Louisiana. Chairman Rills called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM. Commissioner Bourgeois led the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call determined the following:
Commission Chairman:                      Jim Rills
Commission Members Present:         Billy Bourgeois, Edward Dupuy, Brian Falcon, Brian Parsons, Henry Soniat
Commission Members Absent:          Margaret Canella
Advisory Members Present:               Billy Hebert
Advisory Members Absent:                Scarlet Callicoatte
Others present:                                  Joanne Bourgeois

Upon motion by Commissioner Bourgeois; seconded by Commissioner Parsons, the minutes of the July 17, 2023, meeting were unanimously approved as written.

Landmark Plaque Applications: None

Former Landmark Site Applications:
Ms. Joanne Bourgeois narrated a presentation for the Former Landmark Site application for the George Hebert Red & White Store. When Hebert’s Cash Store was established in the 1940s, the building also housed the Brusly Post Office. Hebert’s later became Morales Grocery. Upon the conclusion of the presentation, a motion to recommend the property to the Town Council to be recognized as a Former Landmark Site, was made by Commissioner Soniat; seconded by Commissioner Falcon. The motion passed unanimously.

Other Business:
Commissioner Rills was re-elected Landmark & Heritage Chair by acclamation. Commissioner Soniat nominated Brian Parsons for Vice-Chair; seconded by Commissioner Bourgeois; Commissioner Parsons was elected Vice Chair unanimously.

The meeting dates for 2024 were set as follows:
January 22, 2024
April 15, 2024
July 15, 2024
October 21, 2024

Public Comment:
There will be a Veteran’s Day Breakfast held at Town Hall on November 10th at 8:30 a.m.

A motion was made by Commissioner Parsons to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Bourgeois. The motion passed with a unanimous vote. Commission Chairman Rills adjourned the meeting at 6:59 PM.

/s/Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux, Secretary

Back To Top