Skip to content

Landmark & Heritage Meeting Minutes – January 2024

January 22, 2024

A meeting of the Brusly Landmark and Heritage Commission was held on Monday January 22, 2024, at Brusly Town Hall, Brusly, Louisiana. Chairman Rills called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM. Commissioner Bourgeois led the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call determined the following:
Commission Chairman:                     Jim Rills
Commission Members Present:        Billy Bourgeois, Edward Dupuy, Brian Falcon, Brian Parsons, Henry Soniat
Commission Members Absent:         Margaret Canella
Advisory Members Present:              Billy Hebert
Advisory Members Absent:               Scarlet Callicoatte,
Others present:                                Joanne Bourgeois, Michael Hebert

Upon motion by Commissioner Falcon; seconded by Commissioner Bourgeois, the minutes of the October 16, 2023, meeting were unanimously approved as written.

Landmark Plaque Applications:
Ms. Joanne Bourgeois narrated a slide presentation accompanying Landmark Plaque applications for the following residences:
• 525 Hebert St. – built in 1973, currently owned by John & Helen Gossman;
• 306 E. St. Francis St. – built in 1966, currently owned by Stevie LeJeune.
Upon the conclusion of the presentation, a motion to recommend the homes to the Town Council as Landmark Plaque recipients was made by Commissioner Dupuy; seconded by Commissioner Falcon. The motion passed unanimously.

Former Landmark Site Applications: None

Other Business:
Ms. Bourgeois referred members to view a photograph of the Heck family standing beside the Former Landmark Site sign for the Blacksmith Shop. They had visited Brusly in December and noticed the sign on property formerly owned by the Heck Family. They expressed appreciation to the Town for recognizing the site.

Public Comment: None

A motion was made by Commissioner Bourgeois to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Dupuy. The motion passed with a unanimous vote. Commission Chairman Rills adjourned the meeting at 7:00 PM.

/s/Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux, Secretary

Back To Top