Skip to content

Minutes of the Brusly Landmark & Heritage Commission – April 21, 2014

A meeting of the Brusly Landmark and Heritage Commission was held on Monday April 21, 2014, Brusly Town Hall, Brusly, Louisiana.

Commissioner Bourgeois called the meeting to order at 6:30 P.M. Commissioner Soniat led the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call determined the following officials present:

Commission Members: Billy Bourgeois, Rose Jackson, Shirley Jordan, Henry Soniat
Advisory Members: Brian Falcon
Absent: Margaret Canella, Sara Grady, Jim Rills, Kevin Durbin, Billy Hebert

Others present: Joanne Bourgeois

Upon motion of Commissioner Jordan; seconded by Commissioner Soniat, the minutes of the January 27, 2014 meeting were approved as written.

Landmark Plaque Applications:
There were no new plaque applications presented. Ms. Joanne Bourgeois presented a revised application form to the Commission, with the addition of a blank for the construction date of the property.

Commissioner Soniat suggested the site of the old Brusly Drug Store to receive a former historical site marker.

The design for a new Town Entrance Sign was briefly discussed.

Any Other Business:
Ms. Joanne Bourgeois thanked the Town Office Staff and the Town Maintenance Crew for their help in preparing for the Landmark Plaque Ceremony which was held on April 13, 2014. Ms. Bourgeois also thanked Ruth Landry and Brenda Gomez for helping with the hostess duties during the ceremony. Homes which received Landmark Plaques at the ceremony included:
1651 Allene Street owned by Joel & Katherine Tingle
512 Bourgeois Street owned by Wendy Parrish
153 East Main Street owned by Richard & Paula Soniat
519 Bourgeois Street owned by Felton C. Crockett Jr.
A Former Landmark Site marker was also presented for the site of Excelsior School which was located at 182 North LaBauve Avenue, now the property of Dwayne Roth.

Council Member Bourgeois reported that funds are being requested in the 2014/2015 Town Budget to purchase State of Louisiana Historical Markers for Union Baptist Church and St. John the Baptist Catholic Church.

Public Comment: None

A motion was made by Commissioner Soniat to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Jordan. The motion passed with a unanimous vote. Commissioner Bourgeois adjourned the meeting at 6:49 P.M.
Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux, Secretary

Back To Top