Skip to content

Planning & Zoning Minutes

JANUARY 25, 2017

The regular meeting of the Brusly Planning & Zoning Commission was held this date, January 25, 2017, at the Brusly Town Hall. Chair Person Perrault called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM.
Commissioner Perkins led the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call determined the following officials present:
Chair Person:               Ronda Perrault
Commissioners:          Kim LeMoine, Steve Perkins, Claudette Purnell, Gary Soniat
Absent:                          Steve Guidry, Jeff Travasos

Others present included Joanne Bourgeois, Don Neisler, Rosa Stelly, Shane Sarradet and Byron Oncale.

A motion to approve the minutes of December 21, 2016, regular meeting of the Planning & Zoning, as written, was made by Commissioner LeMoine and seconded by Commissioner Perkins. The minutes were approved unanimously.

Commissioner Jeff Travasos arrived at 6:31.

Zoning: None

Chair Person Perrault read aloud the Variance Request from Vance J. Normand for 615 Lyon St., Lot A-2 of Orleans West 2nd Filing, Non- Compliance Sec. 19.13.b, Servitudes for Utilities, to reduce the Utility Servitude from 15’ to 10’. Chair Person Perrault stated that Mr. Normand had spoken with her about the variance request, and explained that this lot was not included in the previous approval of other lots of the subdivision since he was Mayor of the Town of Brusly at that time. After a brief discussion, relative to length of time a person must wait after leaving an elected position, before asking the governing body for such matters as variances, Commissioner Purnell offered a motion to recommend approval of the request to the Town Council, contingent upon a decision from the Louisiana Board of Ethics; seconded by Commissioner Travasos. The motion passed unanimously.

Public Hearing – Preliminary/Final Plat:
Chair Person Perrault opened the Public Hearing for the Preliminary/Final Plat of Lot 1 Square 20 Town of Brusly into Lots 1-A, 1-B, 1-C and 1-D Square 20 Town of Brusly located in Section 15, Township 8 South, Range 12 East, West Baton Rough Parish Louisiana for John L. Tyler (240 E. Main St.). Mr. Byron Oncale of Acadia Land Surveying, LLC, representing Mr. John L. Tyler, answered questions about the subdivision from Commission Members. Mr. Shane Sarradet, Public Works Director for the Town of Brusly, informed the Commission that there is presently only one sewer tie-in connection to the existing sewer main. Hearing no further comments, Chair Person Perrault closed the Public Hearing and turned the matter over to the Commission. Having determined that the plat met all the requirements for R-2 zoning regulations, a motion to recommend approval to the Town Council was made by Commissioner LeMoine; seconded by Commissioner Soniat. The motion passed unanimously.

Other Business: None
Points of Personal Privilege: None
Announcements: None

A motion was made by Commissioner Travasos to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Perkins. The motion passed with a unanimous vote. The meeting adjourned at 6:46 PM.

/s/Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux, Recording Secretary

Back To Top