Skip to content

Town Planning & Zoning Meeting Minutes – Wednesday, October 22, 2014

October 22, 2014

The regular meeting of the Brusly Planning & Zoning Commission was held this date, October 22, 2014 at the Brusly Town Hall. Chairman LeMoine called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM.

Commissioner Travasos led the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call determined the following officials present:
Chairman: Kim LeMoine
Commissioners: Ronda Perrault, Jeff Travasos, Gary Soniat, Claudette Purnell
Absent: Steve Perkins
Others present included Joanne Bourgeois, Don Neisler, Rosa Stelly and James Sorrell.

Chairman LeMoine opened the floor for nominations to elect Commission Officers. A motion to re-elect all officers to continue in their present positions was made by Commissioner Soniat; seconded by Commissioner Travasos. The motion passed unanimously. The officers are as follows:
Chairman: Kim LeMoine
Vice-Chair: Ronda Perrault
Secretary: Gary Soniat

A motion to approve the minutes of September 24, 2014 regular meeting of the Planning & Zoning, as written, was made by Commissioner Travasos and seconded by Commissioner Purnell. The minutes were approved unanimously.

Chairman LeMoine opened the Public Hearing on the Request for Re-Zoning from C-1 (Light Commercial) to R-1 (Single Family Residential) of 653 E. Main Street, Brusly, located in Section 14, T8S, R12E, for James W. Sorrell & Laverne M. Sorrell. Chairman LeMoine invited Mr. Sorrell to present his request.

After discussion about the requirements for R-1 (Single Family Residential) and hearing no further comments Chairman LeMoine closed the Public Hearing, turning the matter over to the Commission. A motion to recommend the re-zoning to the Town Council, with a variance granted on the frontage requirement of 80 feet to 71 feet, was made by Commissioner Perrault; seconded by Commissioner Travasos. The motion was approved unanimously.

Planning: None

Other Business: None

Remarks of Personal Privilege: None

Announcements: None

A motion was made by Commissioner Purnell to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Perrault. The motion passed with a unanimous vote. The meeting adjourned at 6:44 PM.

/s/ Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux
Recording Secretary

Back To Top