Skip to content

Town Planning & Zoning Meeting Minutes – Wednesday, March 27, 2013

March 27, 2013

The regular meeting of the Brusly Planning & Zoning Commission was held this date, March 27, 2013 at the Brusly Town Hall. Chairperson Rosa Stelly called the meeting to order at 6:35 PM.

Commissioner Perrault led the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call determined the following officials present:
Chairperson: Rosa Stelly
Commissioners: Kim LeMoine, Ronda Perrault, Claudette Purnell
Absent: Jeff Travasos, Gary Soniat, Steve Perkins
Others present included Mayor Joey Normand, Cletus Langlois, Lucas and Lauren Braud.
A motion to approve the minutes of the Planning & Zoning regular meeting of February 27, 2013 as written was made by Commissioner Perrault and seconded by Commissioner LeMoine. The minutes were approved unanimously.

Chairperson Stelly read aloud a Variance Request from Ray Joffrion at 770 Tullier Street to reduce the rear setback from 10’ to 6’ 4”. Chairperson Stelly recognized Mayor Normand. Mayor Normand, speaking for Mr. Joffrion, recommended the variance, explaining that the proposed setback would be in line with the existing setbacks of the surrounding properties.
After a brief discussion, a motion to recommend the variance to the Town Council was made by Commissioner LeMoine; seconded by Commissioner Purnell. The motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner Soniat arrived at 6:38 PM.

Chairperson Stelly opened the Public Hearing for the “Final Plat Showing the Re-subdivision Lot 1, Lot 1-A & Tract JAS-2 into Lot 1-A-1, Tract JAS-2-A & Tract JAS-2-B located in Section 55, T8, R12 East S.E. Land District, West of the Mississippi River Town of Brusly, Parish of West Baton Rouge State of Louisiana (1526 & 1622 Allene Street), For Earl John Sarradet ET. ALS & Joseph A. Sarradet Jr. ET. ALS.
Chairperson Stelly recognized Cletus Langlois, Patin Engineers & Surveyor, who explained the re-subdivision of the properties. After calling for any comments Chairperson Stelly closed the public hearing and turned it over to the Commission for consideration. A motion to recommend the re-subdivision to the Town Council was made by Commissioner Perrault; seconded by Commissioner Soniat. A roll call vote was had with the following results:
Yeas: Perrault, Stelly, Soniat, Purnell, LeMoine
Nays: None
Absent: Travasos, Perkins

Other Business: None

Remarks of Personal Privilege: None

Announcements: None

A motion was made by Commissioner Purnell to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner LeMoine. The motion passed with a unanimous vote. The meeting adjourned at 6:43 PM.

Patricia Gaudet, Recording Secretary

Back To Top