Skip to content

Town Meeting Minutes – Wednesday, March 12, 2003

March 12, 2003

Town of Brusly
Brusly, Louisiana

A special meeting of the Town of Brusly was held this date, March 12, 2003 at 7:00 p.m. at the Brusly Town Hall. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Babin. Mayor Normand called for a moment of silence in respect for retired Port Allen Police Chief Joseph Arthur “Butch” Bergeron, who died on March 10, 2003 and was buried today in Brusly.

A roll call by Town Clerk Jules Lefeaux determined the following officials present:

Mayor: Joey Normand
Council Members: Daryl Babin, Ronda Perrault,
Joanne Bourgeois, Chris Kershaw
Absent: Shane Andre’

Mayor Normand began the discussion on the proposed final plat approval of the First Filing of Orleans Quarters Subdivision. At that point, Council Member Perrault recused herself from consideration of this matter, on the advice of the Ethics Commission. Town Clerk Lefeaux announced there was still a quorum present, and the Council is capable of conducting business. Council Member Kershaw asked if the variances under consideration needed to be considered individually; Mayor Normand advised they could be voted on as a group.

A motion to approve the Final Plat of the First Filing of Orleans Quarters Subdivision, with the inclusion of 14 variances and amended wording of the deed restrictions, was made by Council Member Babin and seconded by Council Member Bourgeois. A roll call vote taken by Town Clerk Lefeaux had the following results:

YEAS: Babin, Bourgeois, Kershaw
NAYS: None
ABSENT: Andre’

The motion passed with three votes in favor. At that point, Council Member Perrault returned to her seat for the remainder of the meeting.

Under Remarks of Personal Privilege, Mr. Danny Rabalais thanked the Council and Mayor for their help and efforts on the project. Council Member Babin thanked all members of the Planning and Zoning Commissions for spending a great deal of their personal time working on the subdivisions’ issues.

A motion was made by Council Member Babin to adjourn, seconded by Council Member Perrault. The motion was unopposed. The meeting adjourned at 7:12 p.m.

___________________________ ___________________________
Joey Normand, Mayor Jules Lefeaux, Town Clerk

Back To Top