Skip to content

Landmark & Heritage Meeting Minutes – October 2020

October 19, 2020

A meeting of the Brusly Landmark and Heritage Commission was held on Monday October 19, 2020, at Brusly Town Hall, Brusly, Louisiana.  Chairman Rills called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM. Commissioner Bourgeois led the Pledge of Allegiance.  A roll call determined the following:

Commission Chairman:                      Jim Rills
Commission Members Present:          Billy Bourgeois, Edward Dupuy, Henry Soniat
Commission Members Absent:          Margaret Canella, Rose Jackson, Shirley Jordan
Advisory Members Present:               Brian Falcon
Advisory Members Absent:               Scarlet Callicoatte, Billy Hebert
Others present:                                   Joanne Bourgeois

Upon motion by Commissioner Soniat, seconded by Commissioner Bourgeois, the minutes of the  July 20, 2020, meeting were unanimously approved as written.

Landmark Plaque Applications:
Ms. Joanne Bourgeois presented the Landmark Plaque application for the home located at 600 Lee Drive, residence of Cyril G. Mouch, Jr.  Advisory Member Falcon read aloud from the application, stating that the house was built in 1967, by Manuel Martin on the first lot to be sold in Courtney Subdivision by Mrs. Irma Tullier in 1964.  It was also noted that Mr. Mouch served as Brusly Volunteer Department Fire Chief in the 1980s.  Upon the conclusion of the presentation, a motion to recommend the home to the Town Council as Landmark Plaque recipient was made by Commissioner Soniat; seconded by Commissioner Dupuy.  The motion passed unanimously.

Former Landmark Site Applications:  None

Other Business:
A motion to re-elect the current officers of the Landmark & Heritage Commission, by acclamation, was made by Commissioner Dupuy; seconded by Commissioner Bourgeois.  By unanimous vote, Commissioner Rills was re-elected Landmark & Heritage Chair and Commissioner Soniat was re-elected Vice Chair.

The meeting dates for 2021 were set as follows:
January 25, 2021
April 19, 2021
July 19, 2021
October 18, 2021

Public Comment:
Council Member Bourgeois thanked Billy Hebert, Debbie Berthelot, Blaine Rabalais, Shane Sarradet, Jamie Loupe, Henry Soniat and Brian Falcon for their help with the Landmark & Heritage Plaque Ceremony held on Sunday, October 11th.  Advisory Member Falcon commented that the well-attended Grotto Ceremony at St. John the Baptist was very nice.

A motion was made by Commissioner Bourgeois to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Dupuy.  The motion passed with a unanimous vote. Commission Chairman Rills adjourned the meeting at 6:46 PM

/s/Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux, Secretary

Back To Top