Skip to content

Landmark & Heritage Meeting Minutes – July 2021

July 19, 2021

A meeting of the Brusly Landmark and Heritage Commission was held on Monday July 19, 2021, at Brusly Town Hall, Brusly, Louisiana.  Chairman Rills called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM. Commissioner Bourgeois led the Pledge of Allegiance.  A roll call determined the following:

Commission Chairman:                      Jim Rills
Commission Members Present:         Billy Bourgeois, Edward Dupuy, Henry Soniat
Commission Members Absent:          Margaret Canella, Rose Jackson, Shirley Jordan
Advisory Members Present:               Brian Falcon, Billy Hebert
Advisory Members Absent:                Scarlet Callicoatte
Others present:                                  Joanne Bourgeois

Upon motion by Commissioner Bourgeois; seconded by Commissioner Dupuy, the minutes of the  April 19, 2021, meeting were unanimously approved as written.

Landmark Plaque Applications:
Ms. Joanne Bourgeois narrated a slide presentation accompanying Landmark Plaque applications for the following homes:

  • 515 LA Hwy 1 N – built in 1961 (currently owned by Erline Hebert);
  • 449 LA Hwy 1 N – built in 1944 (currently owned by Landess Hebert);

Upon the conclusion of the presentation, a motion to recommend the homes to the Town Council as Landmark Plaque recipients was made by Commissioner Bourgeois; seconded by Commissioner Dupuy.  The motion passed unanimously.

Former Landmark Site Applications:   None

Other Business:
Advisory Member Brian Falcon presented a copy of the original 1854 map, drawn by Michael Gill, showing St. James Square and surrounding property owners.

Ms. Joanne Bourgeois shared letters from the estate of John Landry to state and parish officials, covering 1946 – 1948, which contained efforts on his part to have Main Street paved with asphalt.

Ms. Joanne Bourgeois thanked the Town’s entire office staff & maintenance department, Debbie Berthelot, Brian Falcon and Billy Hebert for their help with the Landmark Plaque Ceremony that was held on June 27th.

Public Comment:  None

A motion was made by Commissioner Bourgeois to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Dupuy.  The motion passed with a unanimous vote. Commission Chairman Rills adjourned the meeting at 6:54 PM

/s/Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux, Secretary

Back To Top