Skip to content

Landmark & Heritage Meeting Minutes – April 2018

April 16, 2018


A meeting of the Brusly Landmark and Heritage Commission was held on Monday April 16, 2018, at Brusly Town Hall, Brusly, Louisiana.
Chairman Rills called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM. Commissioner Bourgeois led the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call determined the following:

Commission Chairman:                     Jim Rills
Commission Members Present:        Billy Bourgeois, Edward Dupuy, Henry Soniat
Commission Members Absent:         Margaret Canella, Rose Jackson, Shirley Jordan
Advisory Members Present:              Scarlet Callicoatte, Brian Falcon, Billy Hebert
Others present:                                 Joanne Bourgeois

Upon motion by Commissioner Bourgeois, seconded by Commissioner Dupuy, the minutes of the January 22, 2018, meeting were unanimously approved as written.

Commissioner Shirley Jordan arrived directly after the approval of the January meeting minutes.

Landmark Plaque Applications:
Ms. Joanne Bourgeois narrated a slide presentation accompanying Landmark Plaque applications for the following homes:

  • 220 Hebert St. – Gretchen Ducote;
  • 229 Hebert St. – Ricky Tullier;
  • 238 Hebert St. – Charlotte & Chris Carpenter;
  • 257 Hebert St. – Patricia Cheek;
  • 120 Hebert St. – Patrick Allain & Margaret Canella;

Upon the conclusion of the presentation, a motion to recommend the homes to the Town Council as Landmark Plaque recipients was made by Commissioner Soniat; seconded by Commissioner Dupuy. The motion passed unanimously.

Former Landmark Site Applications: None

Other Business:
Advisory Member Billy Hebert presented a map along with a brief history of Hebert Subdivision which was the first established subdivision developed within the Town of Brusly.
The map showed boundaries of the subdivision, as well as names of the original property owners who built homes there.

The date for the next Landmark Ceremony was set for June 10, 2018 at 3:00 PM.

Public Comment: None

A motion was made by Commissioner Bourgeois to adjourn; seconded by Commissioner Dupuy. The motion passed with a unanimous vote. Commission Chairman Rills adjourned the meeting at 6:58 PM


/s/Patricia Gaudet Thibodaux, Secretary

Back To Top